eight days a week

Being, by all accounts, a deadbeat, I occasionally spend some time making highly unsophisticated graphics in the style of the last century. A lot of them are experimental, and have to do with me trying to learn to use various programs, and a lot of them are for, well, no reason.

Like, awhile back, I made this one:

Except on my eminently unfindable page, The Bad Nineties Graphics Parade, most of these are not available for public consumption, with good reason. The above was basically just a little inside joke around the slight creepiness inherent in all Sacred Heart graphics– or maybe you don’t feel it; maybe it’s just me. My grandmother, who was not even Catholic, had some kind of ancient Sacred Heart calendar from 1948 hanging in a dark closet, which always impressed me with its anatomical correctness and dark, bloody redness.

A couple of days ago, however, I came across SOMETHING TRULY SCARY:

Is it not the absolute apex of giffy creepiness? Divine Mercy graphics, though a little more abstract than straight-up Sacred Heart graphics, always transfix me with their Jesus “catch you later” wave. Welcome to a whole new level.

I stole it off the pink sisters blog, which I’m not going to link to, in case they come looking for their artwork. Actually, it’s a very lovely, straightforward and inspiring site, most of the time. And not that I have anything against Divine Mercy, though I do have mixed feelings about its elbowing out the Octave of Easter. It’s Easter, for God’s sake!

So here’s one I redid for the occasion.

Yeah, I don’t get it either. If you have a better suggestion, let me know.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to eight days a week

  1. Laurie Brown says:

    The first time I saw a Sacred Heart I think I was 8 and they creeped me right the hell out. I went to a friend’s house and her father was over the top Catholic; he had a whole 3×5 table devoted to Jesus, Mary, and I don’t know who else statues, with a giant Sacred Heart picture hanging over it. My friend had to sleep in that room, which was so small her bed was less than a foot from the table; the statues all watched her sleeping. *shudders* Crucifixes give me the horrors, too.

    But the beating heart is really very funny to my warped mind!

  2. Laurie Brown says:

    While I would follow this, I know I’ll never remember to check it- I never do remember to check on blogs that don’t have some way of reminding me of their existance, whether it be RSS feed or emails that say “Hey, I’ve been updated!” Does Word Press have some such way to do that easily?

    • Rebecca says:

      Well, up till two days ago, when I went around and assembled all my nunblogs into a feed on this site, I was an inveterate checker, so I’m no expert. But there should be a “follow” button in the top bar if you’re logged into WordPress, or in the lower right hand corner if you’re not. I put everything on a WordPress feed, so that’s all I know about, but I normally have no trouble following blogs from e.g. Blogger, so I would think you could add it to Blogger , for example.

      I probably should add one of those “subscribe to this blog by e-mail” buttons, but I didn’t think anyone would actually do it.

      P.S. Actually, when I commented, there was a “notify me of new posts by e-mail” box you could check…

  3. Anonymous says:

    I’ve always said that you are ahead of your times, you just need to be discovered and you will have millions.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Oh, it’s me; you left no comment option on that other site.

Leave a Reply

